Standardization bodies

Standardization bodies

Dialogue and collaboration among IoT related SDOs at European and international levels, is more than necessary to foster convergence towards globally interoperable solutions for the IoT across domains.

Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF)

The mission of the IETF is to make the Internet work better by producing high quality, relevant technical documents that influence the way people design, use, and manage the Internet.

Internet Research Task Force (IRTF)

The Internet Research Task Force (IRTF) promotes research of importance to the evolution of the Internet by creating focused, long-term Research Groups working on topics related to Internet protocols, applications, architecture and technology.

World Wide Web Consortium (W3C)

The W3C mission is to lead the World Wide Web to its full potential by developing protocols and guidelines that ensure the long-term growth of the Web.


The Study Groups of ITU’s Telecommunication Standardization Sector (ITU-T) assemble experts from around the world to develop international standards known as ITU-T Recommendations which act as defining elements in the global infrastructure of information and communication technologies (ICTs).

IoT Acceleration Consortium

The IoT Acceleration Lab supports creation of advanced model businesses and improvement of business environment through regulatory reform, etc.


CEN/CENELEC`s mission is to fulfil the needs of business, industry and commerce, service providers, public authorities and regulators, academia and research centres, European trade associations and interest groups representing environmentalists, consumers, trade unions as well as small and medium enterprises, and other public and private institutions.


ETSI is the recognized regional standards body – European Standards Organization (ESO) – dealing with telecommunications, broadcasting and other electronic communications networks and services.
Special groups: ETSI Smart Cities, ETSI ISG CIM group


ISO is an independent, non-governmental international organization with a membership of 162 national standards bodies.


The International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) is the world’s leading organization that prepares and publishes International Standards for all electrical, electronic and related technologies.