EU-IoT Hackathon winners announced: three solutions for mobile sustainable IoT

On 27-29 June 2022, EU-IoT organised the EU-IoT/EFPF Hackathon, co-located with the 12th CONASENSE symposium. The Hackathon focused on mobile sustainable IoT solutions and brought together more than 140 registered participants from all across the world.

As a result of the two-day hackathon, 15 teams were selected for pitching, with the presentation of innovative ideas for mobile sustainable IoT solutions in several domains: IoT Interfaces (Augmented Reality Interfaces based on the Smart Mirror concept), Far Edge (Sustainable IoT via TinyML), Near Edge (Sustainable MEC applications), Infrastructure (Simulating Time-sensitive and Deterministic networking IoT applications), Data Spaces (Sustainable, user-centric smart mobility), and European Factory Platform (IoT services for Manufacturing).

Based on the proposed solutions, the jury selected awarded three innovative ideas:

First place: Team 6 – Cassio Dias, Felipe da Silva Braz, Gabriel Negri, Jose Angelo de Oliveira, UNIVESP, Brazil. The team presented a training project for sustainable irrigation using IoT.


  • EU-IoT Challenges Award, provided by UnternehmerTUM Makerspace – one year XL membership for incubation in the UnternhemerTUM Makerspace in Munich and three trainings per team member
  • EFPF Challenges Award, first prize, one Google Pixel 6

Second place: Team 2 – Sudhir Kshirsagar, Universit of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA. The team presented a project idea in the field of anomaly detection related to data analytics.


  • IoT Forum voucher for one person at IoT Week 2023
  • EFPF Challenges Award, 2nd prize – Google Next HUB 2nd generation smart display and Google ChromeCast Stream player, and two Google Nest Audio Smart Speakers

Third place: Team 16 – Bruno Lowczy, UNIVESP, Brazil. The team presented a project idea called Green Back-up in the field of Data spaces, sustainable, user-centric smart mobility.


  • EFPF Challenges Award 3rd prize, Arduino Kit Explore IoT Kit Education and a set of 40 sensors for Arduino projects plus Arduino Sensor Kit Base with Shield and 10 Grove Sensors

In addition, all team members (individual persons) have been awarded Infineon Kit I and Infineon Kit II.

EU-IoT Hackathon Organizing Committees

Organizers: fortiss GmbH (Mitula Donga, Rute C. Sofia); UnternhemerTUM Makerspace GmbH (Florian Küster)

Technical Committees :
EU-IoT Committee: Rute Sofia (fortiss), Lamprini Kolovou (Martel); John Soldatos (Intracom); Mirko Presser (Aarhus University); Brendan Rowan (Bluspecs)
EFPF Committee: Mitula Donga (fortiss), Alexandros Nizami (ITI-CERTH), Florian Jasche (Fraunhofer FIT), Ingo Martens (Hanse Aerospace); Carlos Coutinho (Caixa Mágica), Usman Wajid (Information Catalyst)

UNIVESP Committee (Brazil pole): Ricardo Edgard Caceffo (UNIVESP); Rodolfo Jardim de Azevedo (UNIVESP); Higor Amario de Souza (UNIVESP)

EU-IoT/EFPF Hackathon Mentors:

  • Mitula Donga, fortiss GmbH, Germany
  • Emilie Mathilde Jakobsen, Aarhus University , Denmark
  • Brendan Rowan, BluSpecs, Spain
  • Miguel Tavares, Caixa Magica, Portugal
  • Florian Jasche, Fraunhofer FIT, Germany
  • Alexandros Nizamis, CERT-ITI, Greece
  • Sergio Galindo, UNIVESP, Brazil
  • Ricardo Caceffo, UNIVESP, Brazil
  • Manel Khelifi, fortiss, GmbH, Germany
  • Erkan Karabulut, fortiss GmbH, Germany
  • Dushyant Dave, fortiss GmbH, Germany
  • Nikos Vakakis, CERT-ITI, Greece
  • Rohit Deshmukh, Fraunhofer FIT, Germany
  • John Soldatos, Netsoft-Intrasoft, Luxembourg
  • Victor Banos, fortiss GmbH, Germany
  • Parwinder Singh, Aarhus University
  • Cecilia Sosa Arias Peixoto, UNIVESP, Brazil
  • Roberto Massi de Oliveira, UNIVESP Brazil
  • Higor Souza, UNIVESP, Brazil
  • Jose Avelino Placca, UNIVESP, Brazil

EU-IoT/EFPF Hackathon Juri:

  • Mario Porrmann, University of Osnabrück, Germany
  • Jens Hagemeyer, University of Bielefeld, Germany
  • Josep Escrig, i2CAT, Spain
  • Daniel Calvo, ATOS, Spain
  • Jonathan Klimt, RWTH University of Aachen, Germany
  • Ilias Siniosoglou, University of Western Macedonia, Greece
  • Arne Bröring, Siemens AG, Germany
  • Erin Elizabeth Seder, Nextworks, Italy
  • Ignacio Lacalle Úbeda, Universidad Politecnica de Valencia, Spain
  • Carlos Coutinho, Caixa Magica Software, Portugal
  • Ingo Martens, Hanse Aerospace
  • Alexander Schneider, Fraunhofer FIT, Germany
  • Alexandros Nizamis, CERTH-ITI, Greece
  • Usman Wajid, Information Catalyst, United Kingdom
  • Higor Amario de Souza, UNIVESP, Brazil
  • Roberto Massi de Oliveira, UNIVESP, Brazil
  • Victoria Alejandra Salazar Herrera, UNIVESP, Brazil
  • Ross Campbell, Information Catalyst, United Kingdom